2013: A Tad too Late or Just in Time?

2 Jan

Happy-New-Year-2013An entire year has passed us by, and the second day of the New Year has already dawned. It was just day before yesterday that we were celebrating the beginning of ‘something’ that has already begun; we are already into Day 2 of 2013. Time is already running, and we are hardly even ready that so many ‘alreadies’ have already taken over so much of that something we were celebrating just the day before yesterday. And honestly, this is not something we don’t get!

It’s another year, an opportunity to begin life afresh; To promise that we are going to make better men and women of ourselves this coming year: I promise to exercise more and eat less, I promise to reach work on time; I shall do mornings and fewer late nights; I shall be more organized and disciplined; I will save more, spend less; I hope to travel, I shall not complain; I shall count my blessings, read more, banter less, make better, informed decisions and not behave like a Dodo  when one is spoken to about Saint Kitts and Nevis – a Caribbean country that sounds more like a ‘religious holiday’ than a destination.

I shall spend more time with family, make more friends, be kind and gentle and good; I shall keep my accounts in order, file my documents, watch movies, listen to music, read world news, learn a language, follow the stock market, hope that no country finds itself in yet another economic crisis, not be judgmental – of course only if you tell me that you have actually attempted to read a book like Fifty Shades of Grey, and worse still, liked it.

I shall groom myself into a terrific lady driver – do I sound like the Mayans now? – and learn to parallel park among other things like swimming, cycling, riding, flying… and yes, I plan to comb my hair more often. Well, this is the way many of us must think as we sit and ponder about how much better we can be, and how much better life can become, when the bus driver suddenly breaks because some rash motorist has already probably broken his New Year resolution of riding safely. And you are jerked back into reality, and you realize that it’s already 10 a.m. and that you are going to be late to work again. And that it’s just the second day of 2013. And that some things just don’t change: For example, the beer in the left hand, and the pen in the right.

Happy New Year guys!

6 Responses to “2013: A Tad too Late or Just in Time?”

  1. pankajsabnani January 4, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Loved the post. I want to travel more in the coming year and learn to play a musical instrument.

    • urvashia January 4, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      Well, make that happen then… my birthday is in the last month of the year… you shd be able to play Happy Birthday on a musical instrument by that time, and I shall so look forward to the special gift 🙂 Happy New Year, Pankaj!

    • pankajsabnani January 4, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      Done! You birthday will be my motivator. 🙂

    • pankajsabnani January 4, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      Your* birthday

  2. wotahoot January 3, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    I want to learn self-defense art, I want to go to Valley of Flowers in Himachal Pradesh, I dont want to act like a dodo when someone asks me about Saint Kitts and Nevis, but if i do, it’s fine; I’m not Wikipedia. I do want to learn a new language, start a small business of my own, learn piano, learn to forgive, learn time-management….. time is running i know. And before we know it, it would be the year of the horse….. But i will still dream dreams, make resolutions…it’s NOT tad too late 🙂

    • urvashia January 3, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      Yes, glad to know you are ‘just in time’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

